Don’t Dwell…Do!

Some people call me the “Get Over It Queen” because I have the ability to process my emotions and move forward.  I don’t dwell on things,  I do something about it.   I process the situation and figure out how to turn it into something positive and constructive.

Bad things happen all the time,  it’s how you take it that matters.

We’ve all been impacted by a not so fortunate situation.  Instead of looking at them like they are a dead end, look at them as an opportunity to grow and learn.  After all,  life is about the journey.

Miley Cyrus sings a really sweet song that sends a good message.  It’s about “The Climb.”  Below is the video.  If you can’t see the video click here.

When it comes to dealing with the “not so great” situation,  I go through 3 steps:

1.  Who, what, where, how and why did this happen?

Through understanding the who, what, where, how and why a situation happened you gain a better understanding of how to better tackle or avoid this situation again.  Try to weed out all the emotions and focus only on the facts.  Try to be objective and focus on things you know for certain are true.

Example: I was  laid off from my job due to funding issues.  The budget couldn’t accommodate all the needed resources.  I was laid off and it had nothing to do with my performance on the job.

2.  What did I learn?

In all all situations, I believe that we learn something.  Weather it’s something about work or people.  Most importantly it’s important to identify what you have a learned about yourself.

Example:  I learned that I need to do more research and ask more questions before deciding to work for a company.  I also learned that if my goal is to become a really good project manager I need to do some reading, take some classes, and become certified.  Through that process I will feel more confident in my abilities.  I know I don’t need to be certified to do the job, but it gives me peace of mind.

3.  Accept what has happened and look at the “bright side.”

Acceptance will help you get over it.  You can’t fix what has already been done,  the only thing you can do is is accept it and move forward.  Identify the “bright side” and turn it into something constructive and positive.

Example: The bright side is,  I have had some time to look closer at myself and identify my strengths and weaknesses.  I’ve had some time to remind myself about why I work.  It’s not about the money.  I work to contribute for the greater good of mankind, even if it is a small contribution…I need to know my job helps people.  Most importantly, I work for my family so I can provide food, shelter, and water.  The bright side is I have emerged as a stronger person and I can help others make it through a similar situation.

Be strong, be positive.  Your height of happiness awaits you …. I know it!

just me,

Cat

4 Responses to Don’t Dwell…Do!

  1. Margo says:

    You are amazing Cathy! You are in my top 5 favorite people of all time! Great article.

  2. kenandbridget says:

    Great advice! And I love what you guys are doing with your blog. Awesome!

  3. Sharon says:

    Love, love, Loooove it! Cat is definitely the “get over it queen”! Great entry girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

